Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Institute of Chinese Studies

The Institute of Chinese Studies at the Freie Universität Berlin is one of the largest scientific centers for China-related research in Germany. Our teaching and research topics focus on modern and contemporary China. In various courses, students acquire profound knowledge regarding China's politics, economy, society and history, and receive an excellent training in modern Chinese language.

Excellent and interdisciplinary research: The Institute of Chinese Studies at the Freie Universität Berlin specializes in social and economic research and history. The research areas at the institute are as follows:

  • Politics and economy
  • History and culture
  • Society
  • Chinese Linguistics and Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language (TCFL)
  • Religion
  • Environment.

Research-oriented and innovative teaching: The Institute attaches great importance to connect research and teaching. Students receive comprehensive as well as China-specific theoretical and methodological training essential to the future China expert. Teachers undergo continuous staff development at the Competence Center for Higher Education Didactics at Freie Universität Berlin. Due to innovative teaching methods and research-oriented teaching, students benefit directly from the diversity and quality of research carried out by the Institute's scholars.

International exchange and networks: The Institute of Chinese Studies cooperates with renowned universities and research institutes in Germany and abroad. Places for short- and long-term stays at China’s most prestigious universities are regularly available to our students, some of which are equipped with scholarships. As one of its six strategic partner universities, Freie Universität Berlin maintains a particularly close relationship with Peking University.

Location Berlin: The city of Berlin is extremely attractive for students in Chinese Studies. Due to numerous research centers, political institutions, think tanks, start-ups, consulting agencies, museums, media companies and other company branches, there are many opportunities for internships and initial professional experiences for young China scholars.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Institut

Das Institut für Chinastudien an der FU Berlin zählt zu den größten wissenschaftlichen Zentren der Chinaforschung in Deutschland. Den Fokus der Lehre und Forschung bildet hier das moderne und gegenwärtige China. In den verschiedenen Studiengängen des Faches erhalten die Studierenden Wissen über Politik, Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft, und Geschichte Chinas sowie eine ausgezeichnete Sprachausbildung in der modernen chinesischen Hochsprache.

Exzellente und interdisziplinäre Forschung: Die besondere Stärke der Chinastudien an der FU Berlin ist ihre sozial-, wirtschafts- und geschichtswissenschaftliche Ausrichtung in der Forschung. Die Forschungsschwerpunkte am Institut sind folgende:

Forschungsnahe und innovative Lehre: Das Institut legt großen Wert auf die Nähe von Forschung und Lehre. Die Studierenden der Chinastudien an der FU Berlin erlernen neben den chinaspezifischen Grundlagen stets auch die notwendigen theoretischen Kenntnisse und methodischen Instrumente, die für die Ausbildung von China-Expertinnen und -Experten unerlässlich sind. Die Dozentinnen und Dozenten des Instituts qualifizieren sich regelmäßig hochschuldidaktisch weiter. Durch innovative Lehrmethoden und die forschungsnahe Lehre profitieren die Studierenden direkt von der Vielfalt und Qualität der Forschung der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Instituts.

Internationaler Austausch und Netzwerke: Das Institut für Chinastudien kooperiert mit rennomierten Universitäten und Forschungsreinrichtungen im In- und Ausland. Für die Studierenden werden regelmäßig Plätze für Kurz- und Langzeitaufenthalte an den wichtigsten Universitäten Chinas ausgeschrieben, die teilweise auch mit Stipendien ausgestattet sind. Enge Kooperationen bestehen insbesondere zur Peking Universität als eine von sechs strategischen Partneruniversitäten der FU Berlin.

Standort Berlin: Die Stadt Berlin ist für Studierende der Chinastudien außerordentlich attraktiv. Durch die hohe Konzentration von außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen, politischen Institutionen, Thinktanks, Start-ups, Unternehmensberatungen, Museen, Medienunternehmen sowie Unternehmensniederlassungen bieten sich vielfältige Möglichkeiten für Praktika und erste einschlägige Berufserfahrungen für junge Chinawissenschaftlerinnen und Chinawissenschaftler.

 

Mentoring
Tutoring