Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Barriers & Borders: Online Seminar Series 2021/2022

News vom 22.09.2021

The Joint Center for History and Economics, University of Cambridge and Harvard University, and Columbia World Projects at Columbia University are delighted to announce their new online seminar series Barriers & Borders.

The seminar puts a spotlight on exciting new research that brings sustained conceptual, analytical, and historical attention to the causes and consequences of constructing (or reconstructing) barriers and borders.

Each seminar consists of a conversation between two scholars. The introductions to the books discussed in this seminar will be pre-circulated among registered participants. Audio recordings of the events will be posted shortly after each event. The first event on Border-Making: State-Building and Geopolitics will take place on October 7, 2021. Further information can be found below. Please register here for the Zoom link.

Thursday, October 7, 2021

Border-Making: State-Building and Geopolitics

9 am PDT (San Francisco), 12pm EST (New York), 5pm BST (London), 6pm CEST (Paris)

Thomas Simpson (University of Cambridge)

The Frontier in British India: Space, Science, and Power in the Nineteenth Century (Cambridge University Press, 2021)

Sören Urbansky (German Historical Institute, Washington, D.C.)

Beyond the Steppe Frontier: A History of the Sino-Russian Border (Princeton University Press, 2020)

Moderators: Franziska Exeler (Cambridge/FU Berlin), Kalyani Ramnath (Harvard)

Subsequent seminars will take place on December 2, 2021, February 3, 2022, and April 7, 2022.

6 / 58
Reaching the People