Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Arabic Studies at Freie Universität Berlin

"Holzlaube" Herbst 2020

"Holzlaube" Herbst 2020
Image Credit: Victoria Mummelthei

The Department of Semitic and Arabic Studies has formally existed at Freie Universität Berlin since 1957/1958 – teaching began in 1963. Since then, the professors of Arabic Studies have expanded established fields of research such as classical Arabic literature and Quranic studies to include diverse directions, such as the development of Arabic script, classical Arabic poetry in its social environment, cultural and intellectual history of the Arabic-speaking world, as well as early Arabic book culture from the perspective of media history.

Under the direction of Prof. Dr. Beatrice Gründler, the focus today is on a philological as well as aesthetic approach to the study of forms, media and texts of classical as well as modern Arabic literature. This includes aspects of interculturality, history of knowledge and diversity research. A close connection between research and teaching is characteristic of all areas.

Arabic Studies can be studied at Freie Universität Berlin in the bachelor's program History and Culture of the Middle East and in the master's program Arabic Studies. Interdisciplinary forms of study are also offered in the English-language master's program Interdisciplinary Studies of the Middle East (ISME)

In addition, History and Culture of the Middle East can be selected as a module offering in the combined bachelor's degree. Furthermore, Arabic Studies is involved in the introductory and orientation study program EinS@FU

spinner
spinner
spinner

News

Upcoming Events

<iframe allowfullscreen id="wallsio-iframe" src="https://walls.io/k3n4j?nobackground=1&show_header=0&autoscroll=1" style="border:0;height:400px;width:100%" title="Arabistik @ Freie Universität Berlin"></iframe>

walls.io

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Arabistik an der Freien Universität Berlin

"Holzlaube" Herbst 2020

"Holzlaube" Herbst 2020
Bildquelle: Victoria Mummelthei

Das Seminar für Semitistik und Arabistik existiert an der Freien Universität Berlin formal seit 1957/1958 – die Lehre wurde 1963 aufgenommen. Seither haben die Professoren und Professorinnen der Arabistik etablierte Forschungsfelder wie klassische arabische Literatur und Koranwissenschaft um diverse Richtungen erweitert, etwa die Entwicklung der arabischen Schrift, die klassische arabische Dichtung in ihrem sozialen Umfeld, Kultur- und Geistesgeschichte der arabischsprachigen Welt, sowie frühe arabische Buchkultur unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Mediengeschichte.

Schwerpunkte unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Beatrice Gründler bilden heute eine philologische sowie ästhetische Herangehensweise an die Erforschung von Formen, Medien und Texten von klassischer wie auch moderner arabischer Literatur. Dies schließt Aspekte der Interkulturalität, Wissensgeschichte und Diversity-Forschung mit ein. Für alle Gebiete ist eine enge Verbindung von Forschung und Lehre charakteristisch.

Arabistik kann an der Freien Universität Berlin im Bachelorstudiengang Geschichte und Kultur des Vorderen Orients sowie im Masterstudiengang Arabistik studiert werden. Fachübergreifende Formen der Auseinandersetzung bieten sich darüber hinaus im englischsprachigen Masterstudiengang Interdisciplinary Studies of the Middle East (ISME)

Außerdem kann Geschichte und Kultur des Vorderen Orients als Modulangebot im Kombi-Bachelor gewählt werden. Desweiteren ist die Arabistik am Einführungs- und Orientierungsstudium EinS@FU beteiligt. 

spinner
spinner
spinner

Aktuelles

Termine

<iframe allowfullscreen id="wallsio-iframe" src="https://walls.io/k3n4j?nobackground=1&show_header=0&autoscroll=1" style="border:0;height:400px;width:100%" title="Arabistik @ Freie Universität Berlin"></iframe>

walls.io