Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Institute of Korean Studies

Welcome to our homepage

The Institute of Korean Studies at Freie Universität Berlin seeks to place modern Korea back into the center of research and teaching. In this context, the Korean Studies Department focuses its research on the politics, economy, society and culture of Korea.

The aim of the study of Korean Studies is the acquisition of knowledge and skills that include a broad spectrum of all aspects of Korea and enables a career in academics, business, media, international organizations and interculturally-oriented institutions. For this study, special importance is placed on the intensive acquisition of Korean language proficiency.

In the scientific examination of the subject of Korean Studies, we deal with specific issues, methods, techniques and theories that serve to analyze the dynamics of Korean society and history. On the one hand, some subjects are borrowed from general research made at the regional level; on the other hand, issues that arise from the study of modern Korea are brought into the discussion of these subjects.

The main research areas of Korean Studies are:

  • The politics, economy and society of Korea
  • Korea's history of ideas and cross-cultural history of ideas
  • Cultural Studies


Eun-Jeung Lee, Prof. Dr.
Director of Korean Studies

Address
Otto-von-Simson-Straße 11
14195 Berlin
Sabine Sommer, Song-I Lim (Secretary)
Fax
+49 30 838 456 898

Fachbereich Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften


Service-Navigation

Fokus in Lehre und Forschung

Die Koreastudien der Freien Universität Berlin rücken die sozialwissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung mit (Nord- und Süd) Korea in den Mittelpunkt der Forschung und Lehre. In diesem Zusammenhang setzen sich die Koreastudien intensiv mit der Politik, Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Kultur Nord- und Südkoreas auseinander.


Das Ziel des Studiums der Koreastudien ist der Erwerb von Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten, die ein möglichst breites Spektrum der Koreastudien umfassen und damit eine Berufstätigkeit in Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Medien, internationalen Organisationen und interkulturell ausgerichteten Institutionen ermöglichen. Für das Studium kommt dem intensiven Erwerb von koreanischen Sprachkenntnissen besondere Bedeutung zu.

In der wissenschaftlichen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Gegenstand beschäftigen sich die Koreastudien mit den spezifischen Fragestellungen, Methoden, Techniken und Theorien, die der Analyse der Dynamik der koreanischen Gesellschaft und Geschichte dienen. Dabei werden einerseits Anleihen bei den regional nicht festgelegten Disziplinen gemacht, andererseits auch Fragestellungen, die sich aus der Beschäftigung mit Korea ergeben, in die Diskussion dieser Fächer hineingetragen.


Die Forschungsaktivitäten des Instituts sind auf sieben Research Units unterteilt:

Adresse
Fabeckstraße 7
14195 Berlin