Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Near Eastern Archaeology in Berlin

muttergottheit

muttergottheit

The Institute for Near Eastern Archaeology was founded in 1948 with the appointment of Anton Moortgat to Freie Universität in Berlin. It is the oldest institution for this discipline in Germany and since 1980 the only one that has been permanently endowed with two chairs. Lecturers of all academic ranks are entrusted with teaching at the Institute.

Thanks to these facilities, the curricula and goals of study are ambitious. Geographically, the scope of work extends over Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, Iraq, the Persian Gulf, Saudi Arabia and Yemen, Iran, Georgia, Armenia, Afghanistan, and Pakistan. Chronologically, it encompasses the span of time from the beginnings of the sedentarization of humans to the Islamic conquests, a total of around 10,000 years. Taken together, this expansive field is known by the term the ancient Near East.

lamagoettin

lamagoettin

Ancient Near Eastern archaeology at the Freie Universität in Berlin taps the remains of the material culture of the ancient Near East as historical sources and works from them to examine the economic, social, political, religious, cultural, intellectual, and art historical aspects of ancient cultures.

In the course of study and in practical education for archaeological fieldwork, the Ancient Near Eastern Archaeology program imparts an understanding of method and theory, as well as fundamental knowledge of the geography, history, sites and monuments of the ancient Near East. This interdisciplinary work is facilitated through numerous close contacts with other fields of intellectual, social and natural sciences.

Particular importance is placed on collaboration with Ancient Near Eastern Studies, whose emphasis is on the elucidation of the textual remains. The Institutes of Ancient Near Eastern Archaeology and Ancient Near Eastern Studies are housed in the same building and tied together through a common core curriculum. The shared library is one of the best of its kind in all of Europe.

gabenbringerinnen

gabenbringerinnen

A further advantage of the Institute is its proximity to related institutions, such as the central office of the German Archaeological Institute and the Museum of the Ancient Near East on the Museum Island in Berlin. Well-known research projects throughout the world are being carried out under the leadership or in collaboration with members of the Institute. Such international cooperation make study at the Institute more desirable for both German and foreign students.

For more information on the Ancient Near Eastern Archaeology degree program and course of studies, please see the current Academic Handbook.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Die Vorderasiatische Archäologie in Berlin

Muttergottheit

Muttergottheit

Lamagöttin

Lamagöttin

Gabenbringerinnen

Gabenbringerinnen

Das Institut für Vorderasiatische Archäologie wurde 1948 mit der Berufung Anton Moortgats an die Freie Universität in Berlin gegründet. Es ist die älteste Einrichtung dieser Disziplin in Deutschland und seit 1980 die einzige, die durchgehend mit zwei Professuren ausgestattet ist. Dozentinnen und Dozenten aller akademischen Grade sind mit der Lehre am Institut betraut.

Ausbildungsinhalte und -ziele des Studiums sind dank dieser Ausstattung weit gesteckt. Geografisch erstreckt sich der Arbeitsbereich über die Türkei, Syrien, Libanon, Jordanien, den Irak, Persischen Golf, Saudi Arabien und Jemen, den Iran, Georgien, Armenien, Afghanistan und Pakistan.

Zeitlich umfasst er die Spanne von den Anfängen menschlicher Sesshaftigkeit bis zur islamischen Eroberung, insgesamt also rund 10000 Jahre. Zusammengenommen wird dieser sehr große Arbeitsbereich unter dem Begriff Alter Vorderer Orient betrachtet.

Die Vorderasiatische Archäologie an der Freien Universität Berlin ist die Archäologie des Alten Vorderen Orients. Sie erschließt die Reste der materiellen Kultur des Alten Vorderen Orients als historische Quellen und arbeitet sie so auf, dass Aussagen auch über die wirtschaftlichen, sozialen, politischen, religiösen, kultur-, geistes- und kunstgeschichtlichen Aspekte der alten Kulturen möglich werden.

Im Verlauf des Studiums und in der praktischen Ausbildung für die archäologische Feldarbeit vermittelt die Vorderasiatische Altertumskunde das Verständnis für Methoden und Theorien ebenso wie grundlegendes Wissen über Geografie, Geschichte, Fundorte und Denkmäler des Alten Vorderen Orients. Durch die zahlreichen Verbindungen zu anderen Disziplinen der Geistes-, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften arbeitet sie interdisziplinär.

Besonderen Stellenwert hat die Zusammenarbeit mit der Altorientalistik, die als Philologie die Erschließung der schriftlichen Hinterlassenschaften betreibt. Die Institute für Vorderasiatische Archäologie und Altorientalistik sind in einem Haus untergebracht und durch ein gemeinsames Kernstudium verbunden. Die gemeinsame Bibliothek zählt europaweit zu den besten Fachbibliotheken.

Weitere Standortvorteile sind die Nähe zu anderen fachrelevanten Institutionen wie der Zentrale des Deutschen Archäologischen Institutes und dem Vorderasiatischen Museum auf der Museumsinsel in Berlin. Namhafte Forschungsprojekte im Ausland werden unter Leitung bzw. Begleitung von Institutsmitarbeiterinnen und -mitarbeitern durchgeführt. Internationale Kooperationen erhöhen die Attraktivität des Studiums für in- und ausländische Studierende.

Für weitere Informationen zum Studiengang Vorderasiatische Altertumskunde siehe „Studienhandbuch aktuell“. 

Mentoring
Tutoring