Springe direkt zu Inhalt

MA MAS Clara Momoko Geber

Foto_Clara-Momoko-Geber

Institute of East Asian Studies

Japanese Studies

Researcher

Address
Hittorfstr. 18
Room 1.05
14195 Berlin
Fax
+49 30 838 467293

Office hours

Contact only by e-mail!

Clara Momoko Geber joined the Institute of Japanese Studies at Freie Universität Berlin in August 2019 as a lecturer and doctoral candidate. Her academic background includes Cultural Management at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna (Master of Advanced Studies, 2020) and Japanese Studies at the University of Vienna (Bachelor of Arts, 2017/Master of Arts, 2019). Besides her work, she has been enrolled as a master’s student in East Asian Art History at Freie Universität Berlin since October 2020 and aims to graduate at the end of August 2022. During her studies, she was active as an academic tutor (University of Vienna), Japanese language teacher (Nihongo Gakuen Vienna), student representative (University of Vienna), and freelance translator. She gained work experience abroad through internships in interpreting/cultural mediation at the Arakawa District Office in Tokyo (Japan) and journalism at Deutsche Allgemeine Zeitung in Almaty (Kazakhstan).

Her activities have been supported by the Deutschlandstipendium (10.2021–08.2022), the Laura Bassi Scholarship (2021), the DAAD Research Fellowship for Doctoral Students (2020, cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic), the University of Vienna Short-Term Research Abroad Scholarship (2019), and several scholarships for excellence of the University of Vienna (2015, 2016, 2018, 2019).

  • SS 2022: Seminar “Music and Propaganda in Japan during World War II”
  • WS 2021/22: Seminar “(Healing) War Trauma in Postwar Japan”
  • SS 2021: Seminar “War and Peace: Japanese War Remembrance in Museums”
  • WS 2020/21: Seminar “Tell Us About War: Reconstructing the Pacific War Using Oral History and Written Sources”
  • SS 2020: Seminar “Japan in World War II: Representation in Art Objects”
  • WS 2019/20: Seminar “Translation in its Professional Practice: Japanese-German”

Clara Momoko Geber’s dissertation focuses on art and cultural activities of Japanese soldiers in Soviet captivity. This work incorporates her knowledge from the three fields of Japanese studies (wartime and postwar history), cultural management (cultural economics, cultural policy, cultural theory), and East Asian art history (object analysis, art theory).

Publications

12.2019
“Songs of Japanese Prisoners of War in the Soviet Union after World War II,” Vienna Journal of East Asian Studies 11/1, 179–211.

05.2018
„Japanische Kriegsgefangene in Kasachstan nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg: Eine historische Rekonstruktion mit Feldforschung in Almaty und Karaganda“, MinikomiAustrian Journal of Japanese Studies 87, 33–43.

08.2017–10.2017
Eight-part series of articles on Japanese prisoners of war in the Soviet Union in the Deutsche Allgemeine Zeitung Kazakhstan (in German)

Academic Presentations

  • 16th International Conference of the European Association for Japanese Studies,
    24–28 August 2021
  • International History of East Asia Seminar, Oxford University, Michaelmas Term 2021

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

MA MAS Clara Momoko Geber

Foto_Clara-Momoko-Geber

Ostasiatisches Seminar / Japanologie

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Adresse
Hittorfstr. 18
Raum 1.05
14195 Berlin
Fax
+49 30 838 467293

Sprechstunde

Bitte nehmen Sie per E-Mail Kontakt auf!

Clara Momoko Geber ist seit August 2019 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin am Institut für Japanologie der Freien Universität Berlin. Ihr akademischer Werdegang umfasst Kulturmanagement an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien (Master of Advanced Studies, 2020) und Japanologie an der Universität Wien (Bachelor of Arts, 2017/Master of Arts, 2019). Nebenberuflich studiert sie seit Oktober 2020 als Masterstudentin der Ostasiatischen Kunstgeschichte an der Freien Universität Berlin und strebt einen Abschluss Ende August 2022 an. Während ihrer Studienzeit war sie als akademische Tutorin (Universität Wien), Japanisch-Lehrerin (Nihongo Gakuen Wien), Studienvertreterin (Universität Wien), und freiberufliche Übersetzerin tätig. Arbeitserfahrung im Ausland sammelte sie durch Praktika in den Bereichen Dolmetschen/Kulturvermittlung am Bezirksamt Arakawa in Tokyo (Japan) sowie Journalismus bei der Deutschen Allgemeinen Zeitung in Almaty (Kasachstan).

Unterstützt wurden ihre Tätigkeiten mit dem Deutschlandstipendium (10.2021–08.2022), dem Laura Bassi Scholarship (2021), dem DAAD Forschungsstipendium für Doktorand*innen (2020, nicht angetreten wegen der COVID-19-Pandemie), dem Kurzfristigen wissenschaftlichen Auslandsstipendium der Universität Wien (2019), und mehreren Leistungsstipendien der Universität Wien (2015, 2016, 2018, 2019).

  • SS 2022: Proseminar „Musik und Propaganda in Japan während des Zweiten Weltkriegs“
  • WS 2021/22: Proseminar „Traumata und deren Aufarbeitung im nachkriegszeitlichen Japan“
  • SS 2021: Proseminar „Krieg und Frieden: Erinnerungskultur Japans in Museen“
  • WS 2020/21: Proseminar „Erzählt uns vom Krieg: Rekonstruktion des Pazifikkriegs anhand von mündlichen Überlieferungen und schriftlichen Zeugnissen“
  • SS 2020: Proseminar „Japan im Zweiten Weltkrieg: Darstellung in Kunstobjekten“
  • WS 2019/20: Seminar „Translation in seiner beruflichen Praxis: Japanisch-Deutsch“

Clara Momoko Gebers Dissertation befasst sich mit Kunst- und Kulturtätigkeiten japanischer Soldaten in der sowjetischen Kriegsgefangenschaft. In dieser Arbeit fließt ihr Wissen aus den drei Bereichen der Japanologie (Geschichte der Kriegs- und Nachkriegszeit), des Kulturmanagements (Kulturökonomie, Kulturpolitik, Kulturtheorie) und der Ostasiatischen Kunstgeschichte (Objektanalyse, Kunsttheorie) ein.

Publikationen

 12.2019
“Songs of Japanese Prisoners of War in the Soviet Union after World War II,” Vienna Journal of East Asian Studies 11/1, 179–211.

 05.2018
„Japanische Kriegsgefangene in Kasachstan nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg: Eine historische Rekonstruktion mit Feldforschung in Almaty und Karaganda“, MinikomiAustrian Journal of Japanese Studies 87, 33–43.

 08.2017–10.2017
Achtteilige Artikel-Serie über japanische Kriegsgefangene in der Sowjetunion in der Deutschen Allgemeine Zeitung Kasachstan


Vorträge

  • 16th International Conference of the European Association for Japanese Studies,
    24–28 August 2021
  • International History of East Asia Seminar, Oxford University, Michaelmas Term 2021